Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Complete newbie. Stupid Question: How / where do I start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Complete newbie. Stupid Question: How / where do I start?

Thank you in advance for indulging my ignorance.

I've always wanted to drive fast around a track, and I figure that during a mid-life crisis in the middle of global pandemic is as good a time as any to get started.

I've done "advanced driver training" in the past in cars and motorcycles on tracks and really enjoyed it.

Now I'd like to figure out it if this something I can enjoy regularly and if I can even afford it, or if it's just a pipe dream.

So, what's a good way to get into racing?
    Should I start with karting?
    Take a class?
    Track days?

Basically if you were staring again from scratch, how would you do it?

I have no equipment.
    I have an old Miata (91) that "ran when parked" many years ago, that may or may not be salvageable or modifiable for the track.

Alex, welcome. I'm going to ask you a few questions. Do you want to do "door to door" racing or do you think "time attack" (one car at a time sort of on a race track would satify you ?
    At least for a while. While yIt will be said on this forum that it is probably cheaper to by a completed race car than to build one from scratch. Most people don't have the skills, eqiuipmet, space,
    etc to build a full on Racee car them selves. Lots of used Race cars are for sale but you might have to travel to get one. There's nothing wrong with using 2021 going to events and finding out what you want