Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cheap car to learn with?

Hi,

I'm looking to try Time Attack this year for the first time, and also attend some racing schools like Shannonville.

I have no track/racing experience. I was planning to use my daily driver (Mazda5) but it's the only family car and I'm now considering getting something cheap that I can learn on and use as my gateway vehicle. Once I become a full fledged addict I can upgrade (or maybe resurrect my NA Miata that's been rotting in "storage" at my parents' house for the last 5 years.)

So basically, I need a car to get me to the track and back, be fun to drive and learn on, and forgiving of my mistakes.
    I am mechanically inclined and have some garage space so I'm not afraid of doing my own work on the car. In fact I see it as part of the fun.

I was thinking I could pick up a Honda Fit for between $1- $2K, put in some new brakes, add some fresh rubber, and I should be good to go for the season. Or until it blows up. Or I crash it.

I'm worried it will be under powered, but that's probably a good thing.

Thoughts?
    Advice?
    Anyone driving something similar?

Thanks,
    Alex

Congrats Alex on joining us for next year. A Honda Fit would be a great starter car and likely pretty reliable. Also it can carry all the stuff you would ever need to the track. Others have used the Toyota Yaris/Echo platforms for a lot of cheap fun. Check out the Sundaecup #GRIDLIFE SundaeCup. Low Budget, High Fun Time Attack Class for Daily Drivers. — #GRIDLIFE These guys are going wheel to wheel for not a lot of money (but more than you need to spend to enjoy OTA).